Intoxication Manslaughter In Denton, Cooke, or Wise
In Texas, prosecutors can be ruthless and relentless in trying to convict an individual charged with intoxicated manslaughter. Texas law is unforgiving no matter whether the accused intended to hurt someone or not. Intoxication manslaughter occurs when an individual drives a vehicle while inebriated, and in so doing, accidentally causes a death. A charge of this nature necessitates a meticulously prepared and proactive legal defense.
Intoxicated manslaughter is a second degree felony in Texas and can result in any number of criminal consequences like:
- 2-20 years in prison
- Driver’s license suspension of 180 days to 2 years
- Up to a $10,00 fine
Intoxication assault occurs when you cause serious bodily injury to another while operating a motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol. Serious bodily injury means one that has a substantial risk of death or causes permanent loss, disfigurement or impairment. This is a third degree felony in Texas.
If you are charged with intoxication assault you can face criminal penalties such as:
- A fine up to $10,000
- Penitentiary imprisonment for 2-10 years
- Probation with jail time up to 180 days
No matter how discouraging your situation may be, Paige McCormick can help. With proven defense strategies and skills, he will fight for the most favorable outcome possible in your intoxication assault or manslaughter charge.
Contact the law office of Paige McCormick today for a free consultation. Paige McCormick serves in Denton, Cooke, & Wise, Counties and throughout North Texas.